Not Aldous Huxley

12 Sep

On returning from some minor surgery in Gaza, I was pleased to find a new bunch of catalogues awaiting me.  I find it pleasant to wile away a few moments over a cup of tea, examining fresh fashion atrocities and descriptions of new motion pictures that I cannot be bothered to see, and of course I wanted to test my new eyes.

I should not have been surprised to find the latest catalogue from Trevgene.  We are a clever bunch in Glossolalia, with much of our economy based around the latest developments in research and technology, as well as armaments and vegetarianism.  We don’t have the labour force to compete with our Chinese neighbours, and have to concentrate on working smarter, not just harder.  Or so I read in some book (or perhaps wrote in some job application, I forget, I have a very short look something shiny).

The new catalogue praised the wonders of a genetically enhanced workforce.  Once upon a time, I confess, I would have been appalled at such an idea, but recently (coincidentally, since I started drinking bottled Trevwater), I can see that I was simply being a fogey, an old fashioned reactionary.  Why leave it to nature to slowly and haphazardly alter your workforce, when Trevgene can breed your workers for you.  I flipped through the pages, amazed by the many colours they came in, and all of their enhancements.

It occurred to me that long ago, in the dim past, Huxley’s Brave New World would have been presented to impressionable youth as a dystopia.  Today I am sure it is taught in schools as a desirable goal, as a model to test ourselves against, and find ourselves lacking.  It is also a tragedy of course, a tragedy that Mr Savage was unable to adapt to the wonders of this brave new world.  I ain’t no Mr Savage, and I’m not an Epsilon minus sub moron.  No, they are being bottled and decanted as we speak across the river at the Trevgene facility.  I like my comfortable bed, I don’t desire to recline on any scrap heap.

For a moment my head hurt.  Then I saw that the catalogue came with a tiny sample sachet as a bonus, and I cheered.  After all, a gramme is better than a damn.

It is lonely in Glossolalia - come scream with us

